Call Us Today! (843) 200-3735

Proudly serving North Charleston, SC and the surrounding area since 2000

Request a Call

Note: * indicates a required field

Verification*
Type the letters shown above | Reload Letters

Our Reviews

Overall Verified Testimonial Score

4.84

Composite Score

Quality

Customer Service

Value

Review Date: 06/26/2019 | Author: Darryl C.

Comments: Excellent job to go along with a great focus on customer service and satisfaction.

Review Date: 06/14/2019 | Author: Cara S.

Comments: I could not be happier with the process or the outcome of my project. James Leigh was very easy to contact and kept me informed every step of the way. He and his crew even finished early! Would highly recommend!

Review Date: 06/12/2019 | Author: Edward D.

Comments: Showed up on time.....did a great job. Applied a sealer and three coats of paint....over and above what I expected. I would use them again.

Review Date: 05/31/2019 | Author: Joe D.

Comments: James was professional, honest about what needed to be done he also gave us a fair price for the work that needed to be done and Ernesto did an awsome paint job we would absolutely recommend this painting company

Review Date: 04/08/2019 | Author: Jan T.

Comments: Highly recommend Leighs Painting. They completely repainted the exterior of my home. Did a great job preparing the house before starting - power washing, caulking, covering rusty nails, covering porch areas with paper, and doing minor repairs. The crew worked steadily and efficiently and were very friendly. Cleaned up every day so the job site was not a mess. Company owner checked in with the crew and with me on a regular basis. The cost was very reasonable. Getting lots of compliments from my neighbors on how well the new paint job looks.

Review Date: 11/28/2018 | Author: Carolyn F.

Comments: Called immediately once I submitted a request for a quote, work was scheduled quickly, team arrived as scheduled and finished a week long project early. Always kept me up to date on progress and sent pictures throughout. Re-mudded ceilings, repaired holes in walls, and painted. I feel like James and his team went above and beyond in all respects. Excellent work, price is competitive, and customer service is outstanding! Thank you!

Review Date: 10/30/2018 | Author: Michael Z.

Comments: Very prompt and courteous workers. They did the job on time with attention to detail.

Review Date: 09/09/2018 | Author: Richard D.

Comments: Very kprofessional would highly reccomend

Review Date: 08/24/2018 | Author: Charles M.

Comments: Leigh is simply top shelf,nothing else needs to be said. From the initial meeting thru end of the job everything handled flawlessly, on time, great results, ultimate professional. Proud enough to brag. Call me if you want to discuss further. 843 4336492

Review Date: 08/22/2018 | Author: Deborah H.

Comments: Leigh's Painting exhibited a good attitude. They began work at the specified time and worked all day. They painted the porch, the back and front steps on my elevated home, and the back deck. Following having my house washed, these all had looked bad with most of previous stain gone. They applied two coats of solid stain. All looked really nice. Also there was a problem with a wall in the entryway. They removed the damaged drywall, took care of the problem, and then patched the wall. When painted, it looked perfect. There was no sign of repair. I would gladly recommend Leigh's Painting for painting and drywall repair. In fact, I plan to employ them again very soon to repair a larger drywall project in my breakfast and dining areas.

Review Date: 08/20/2018 | Author: Helen P.

Review Date: 08/18/2018 | Author: Helen P.

Review Date: 08/17/2018 | Author: Catherline l W.

Comments: This company is very professional, arrives on time, clean up after the is completed and there price were better than 5 others I contacted. I will say a prayer that God will favor and Bless this company.

Review Date: 08/17/2018 | Author: Tamera C.

Comments: I called to have one bedroom painted and they showed up the next morning and we’re finished by lunch time. Great work, easy to work with. would definitely hire again.

Review Date: 08/13/2018 | Author: Jennifer B.

Comments: Ceilings and cabinets look amazing!

Review Date: 08/11/2018 | Author: Jack W.

Comments: I called them at about 5pm needing a townhouse painted the next day. They were able to get a crew of 6 men the next day to finish the job.

Review Date: 08/06/2018 | Author: Lori B.

Comments: James was professional and he and his crew were courteous of working in our home. They did a great job removing popcorn and painting our ceilings that are lofted and high. I will use them again for other painting projects and recommend them to others for their painting projects.

Review Date: 06/22/2018 | Author: Evan W.

Comments: Leigh’s Painting did an amazing job with our painting project and completed it before the deadline that we had been given. The price was very competitive, and James sent us photos of the progress each day before he left. I would recommend Leigh’s Painting without hesitation to anyone.

Review Date: 05/21/2018 | Author: Michele E.

Comments: I had an unusual job where we had multiple patch areas throughout the house that needed to be sheetrocked. These guys were very flexible in working around painters and other carpenters in order to get this job done. They did a great job.

Review Date: 04/25/2018 | Author: Willie W.

Comments: show up on time

Review Date: 04/06/2018 | Author: Frank V.

Comments: As I clicked send on my reply, I noticed there was a 2.0 listed on my last question. This was a mistake. It should have been a 5.0 rating. Please correct this for me. They get a 5.0 rating on all questions. Thank you

Review Date: 03/25/2018 | Author: Ruthann B.

Comments: James and his team did an excellent job of removing the popcorn ceilings and painting our villa. They were done in a week, and they did an awesome job. I would definitely hire them again

Review Date: 03/21/2018 | Author: Amy S.

Comments: James and his team are excellent to work with! While they are not the least expensive, they do phenomenal work!

Review Date: 03/17/2018 | Author: Daniel N.

Comments: Leigh's Painting completed finishing drywall for me in two places in my home. James answered the phone after 5:00 PM and had someone on site the next day. I feel James's price was fair. His professional drywall guy Travis was on time, respectful & cleaned up well after the job was complete. I will be using them again if I have any drywall projects in the future.

Review Date: 02/23/2018 | Author: Horst R.

Comments: Excellent and prompt service; very professional team; just perfect!

Review Date: 02/21/2018 | Author: Keith S.

Comments: Very prompt and very professional. Hired them and work was completed in 2 days! Mike did awesome work and gave me a few pointers as well! Will definitely hire again!

Review Date: 02/12/2018 | Author: Carol T.

Comments: Very professional, prompt, courteous, knows his business! He takes pride in his work. Very cautious about covering everything so there’s no splattering! Hire him. I will again.

Review Date: 02/07/2018 | Author: Terry R.

Comments: They sent out a seasoned veteran (Mike) who did an exceptional job on our dry walls. He spent valuable time explaining the process and then implementing his plan. He then followed up later the same day to complete the job. This is certainly a great company I would hire again.

Review Date: 01/30/2018 | Author: Michael S.

Comments: Work done quickly and did a great job keeping everything clean and as it was before they arrived. Great job blending in the ceiling repair with the existing ceiling

Review Date: 01/28/2018 | Author: Graeme&merrilyn J.

Comments: Prompt return call and quote. Tidy clean workers with good result.

Review Date: 01/27/2018 | Author: Mary F.

Comments: he was excellent. very thorough!!!!

Review Date: 01/19/2018 | Author: Jim L.

Comments: Very prompt, called right away.Gave me a price. Started job at once. Very pleased with work. James and Mike were very professional. Would very much hire again..

Review Date: 01/02/2018 | Author: Lee Y.

Comments: Great service and quality work. Will hire again !

Review Date: 12/31/2017 | Author: Thomas R.

Comments: Showed up fast. Repaired a settling crack on a wall. Can not tell the repair was made.

Review Date: 12/12/2017 | Author: Joseph H.

Comments: Very professional and quality work.

Review Date: 12/04/2017 | Author: Sarah V.

Comments: We hired Leigh Painting to scrape popcorn ceilings and paint them in our home before we moved in. During our initial consultation with James, we were impressed by his thoroughness as he really took the time to assess the scope of work and gave us what we felt was a fair price. They started the Thursday before Thanksgiving and we hoped the project would be done in a week so we could host Thanksgiving at our new home. James' crew showed up early that first morning and did a thorough job putting up plastic on the walls and floors before they started. We had scraped popcorn ceilings in our previous home and knew how much of a mess it is so we were grateful they took the time to properly plastic everything. They were able to scrape all of the ceilings that first day which was incredible (the popcorn was not painted). They had quite a bit of repair work to do and used an oil based primer to ensure any areas that had seen some water damage would not seep through the paint ever. The crew even worked on Saturday to ensure the job was done in a timely manner. They finished the entire job in just 4 days and it looked incredible. I would (and have already to friends) highly recommend James and his team.

Review Date: 08/11/2017 | Author: Byron C.

Comments: Prior to reaching agreement, we both knew that the job was not routine because of a previous contractor's poor work. James was very professional and up front. We initially agreed on a course that did not pan out, through no fault of his. We renegotiated a different path which worked out beautifully. He and his crew stayed long hours to complete the job before the weekend. My wife and I are delighted with the finished product. We highly recommend his company.

Review Date: 07/08/2017 | Author: Jason C.

Comments: James Leigh and his team are consummate professionals. They painted our backyard fence and made sure to take the time and care to make it beautiful. As particular as we are, we couldn't be more impressed. James is customer-centric, meticulous, and an excellent communicator that understands his clients' needs. I am saving Leigh's Painting & Contracting as my go-to source for any/all future needs. I highly recommend that you do the same. James - thank you again for your outstanding work!

Review Date: 02/13/2017 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Great work

Review Date: 01/02/2017 | Author: Kevin R.

Comments: James and his crew did a great job. Very professional, courteous and completed the painting on time. Would highly recommend the company.

Review Date: 12/23/2016 | Author: Thomas T.

Comments: James is very detail oriented, disorganized, but the job came out very good. He missed some things in his original quote and it cost extra.

Review Date: 11/21/2016 | Author: William F.

Comments: James and his crew did a great job. This is a painting contractor who knows how to do a job right. If you want a professional result that is completed on budget and on time, Leigh's Painting should be your first choice.

Review Date: 10/09/2016 | Author: Julie G.

Comments: James Leigh came out promptly to estimate the job and was able to finish it well before estimated time to completion. Very courteous and professional.

Review Date: 09/04/2016 | Author: Harold G.

Comments: did a great job

Review Date: 09/03/2016 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Good and clean fast service

Review Date: 06/09/2016 | Author: Karen R.

Comments: We had 18 shutters, the front door and door trim painted. They arrived on time, did an excellent job and cleaned up after themselves. The next time I need something painted I will call him.

Review Date: 03/01/2016 | Author: Andrea R.

Comments: They did a fantastic job scraping the ceilings and were very quick and efficient. Also, the services were very well priced. My husband and I are very pleased with the end result and love our the way our ceilings look now.

Review Date: 02/22/2016 | Author: Lisa A.

Comments: Great work completed quickly! Excellent communication!

Review Date: 02/01/2016 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Quick response, on time for initial estimate and was able to start immediately. Repairs completed as proposed on schedule. Very good experience.

Review Date: 01/21/2016 | Author: Thomas N.

Comments: Job well done and at a fair price. He removed My popcorn ceiling and repaired and painted it. It is perfect .

Review Date: 01/07/2016 | Author: Edward B.

Comments: Excellent workmanship

Review Date: 12/28/2015 | Author: Teresa S.

Comments: Needed a drywall repair in downstairs bathroom, and paint ceiling and barh walls. Very prompt response time, cane out and did the job very quickly, owner very knowledgeable and gave me some tips on painting cabinets (bonus) Work done quickly, efficiently, and follow up after job was completed excellent! Would definitely use again.

Review Date: 12/07/2015 | Author: William B.

Comments: Affable & Professional

Review Date: 11/16/2015 | Author: Susan V.

Comments: Mr. Leigh arrived on time for the job.It ended up being a larger job than expected but continued until it was complete. He suggested the bathrooms would look better if painted. He took a sample from each room and bought the paint and returned the next afternoon to finish the job. Before he left he rehung towel racks and made sure everything suited me. I would most definitely call him again for another job.

Review Date: 11/16/2015 | Author: Rick and kathy G.

Comments: My wife and I were in a desperate situation, because of the hiring of a local contractor, to convert our ceilings from popcorn to slick. They did such a terrible terrible job and actually had to be fired in the middle of the project. James, of Liegh's Painting and Contracting came to our rescue! which was such a blessing and God thing, an answer to our prayers! We found them by going through "Home Advisory". James called us within 15 minutes of us contacting home advisory and visited us the next day to view what was done and what it was going to take to get our home back to the condition that both himself and we would be proud of. James actually sat down and we talked for over an hour after he already worked a full day! James is different than any contractor you are going to be in contact with, I guarantee it! Because He and His Crew Sincerely CARE and They Take Personal Pride in Their Work. He has had his very dependable and trustworthy crew for over 15 years now! James and his crew basically had to redo everything the previous contractor did, in our home, to meet his standards of excellence, which actually exceeded ours. I know this sounds to good to be true in this day and age because it's so hard to find a dependable contractor you can trust that will do a great job, BUT! You Don't Have Too Look Any Further! James' crew for our home, consisted of James, Ron and Ernesto. They did such an awesome job with the ceilings that we ended up doing an additional contract, we added the painting of all of the rooms in the house. James allowed us to pick out all the colors and use the best Sherwin Williams paints at a great cost! From James crew, Ron did the majority of the painting in our house and actually completed several of the ceilings. (Our home looks like a show room now!) For Ron, I can't say enough about this man! Such a warm soul, his attention to detail, his work ethic and sense of pride he showed by getting the job right was unmatched by any! You will see all of the traits that James possess; the honesty, the sense of pride, the compassion and professionalism, throughout his crew. We are so blessed to have had Leigh's Painting and Contracting in our home, the memories will last forever! Thank you; James, Ron and Ernesto! :)

Review Date: 09/19/2015 | Author: Charles S.

Comments: Truly outstanding, professional service. I highly recommend! I could not be more pleased with my experience with Leigh's painting.

Review Date: 09/09/2015 | Author: Hilda B.

Comments: Went thru Home Advisor on a holiday, James called back with in an hour. Came the next day with Ron, gave me a quote, got the paint, repaired the dry wall and worked until the job was done. Looks fantastic. They will be coming back to remove popcorn ceiling and refinish the kitchen cabinets. Prompt very nice and do great work.

Review Date: 09/08/2015 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: In addution to be very hard wirkers, they are courteous and respectful. They use quality products and do not skimp on the amount of paint that b they use thus creating an excellent finished product I have received several comments on how nice it loojs.

Review Date: 09/02/2015 | Author: Scott G.

Comments: Prompt, was here right when said was going to be. Cleaned up after. Top shelf work done. Am going to have more stuff done and I will only use them in the future.

Review Date: 08/27/2015 | Author: Lauren R.

Comments: Working with James Leigh was easy and super fast. I submitted for a job through Home Advisor (on a Monday) and he contacted me within an hour. He came by the next day (Tuesday), and the project was started the day after that (Thursday) and finished by Friday afternoon. Price was great and James was very helpful. He offered to get the paint himself, but because I wasn't sure which color I wanted, I needed to get it myself. He was super helpful in referring the best quality paint and making sure we got his contractor discount and didn't have to pay full price for the paint.

Review Date: 08/24/2015 | Author: Craig M.

Comments: Fantastic experience. First class communication and extraordinarily timely service for an emergency repair. James very clearly cares about his craft and your needs, and the quality of his work attests to this. I would highly recommend him and will use him again. Grateful to find him!!!

Review Date: 08/19/2015 | Author: Marylou N.

Comments: James called immediately after receiving my request through Home Advisor. He was able to give me a quote within the hour after sending him a picture of the stress fracture on my wall and came out the next day (on time!!) to start the job. As promised, and again on time, he showed up the following day to complete the work. Ernesto, his assistant, did a fabulous job and I highly recommend using Leigh's Paining and Contracting not only based on the above but also his fair pricing.

Review Date: 08/09/2015 | Author: Marc R.

Comments: Professional, quick, high quality...not many people left like him these days. Price was fair also.

Review Date: 08/06/2015 | Author: Michael J.

Comments: James gave me a great quote, we set the date for the repair, he was there on time. The job was a little more intensive than he originally thought but he took it in stride. The job turned out great, his asst. Ron did an amazing job with the mudding of the drywall and the painting. I would highly reccommened them to anyone and if need be I will not hesitate to call them again. Great job.

Review Date: 04/28/2015 | Author: Denise R.

Comments: Ernesto did a great job painting the areas required. Very satisfied with the work done.

Review Date: 04/21/2015 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: We worked with James directly. We needed some internal wood walls stained to match the existing finish, and he really took great care to make sure we were happy with his work; very detail oriented, which is refreshing for contractor type work.

Review Date: 03/29/2015 | Author: Doug T.

Comments: We are new to the area. Our home had a new AC unit installed in the attic without the drain line connected prior to us moving in. We had a mess of a ceiling when the water came flowing thru. I contacted Mr. Leigh solely based on this website and the reviews below. My work schedule makes it difficult for me coordinate any home repairs. Mr.Leigh is the exception to my experience with General Contractors. He just asked for me to call him when I had a window of time. He and his staff, as noted in other reviews, were punctual, courteous and professional. They forfeited a weekend to help me. They asked if I'd mind if they just worked the job to completion to save time and help me with my schedule. They stayed until completion. I'm very grateful to see a company that put the customers needs first. The workmanship very much exceeded my expectations and at a fair price. Thanks Mr. Leigh and staff!

Review Date: 02/24/2015 | Author: Roberta B.

Comments: Mr. Leigh and staff punctual, courteous and professional. Explained in detail the work needed to be done. Always had time to answer any questions I had. His price was very reasonable. Quality of work excellent.

Review Date: 02/13/2015 | Author: Colin S.

Comments: repair/painting of patio completed in a timely matter, and great quality of work.

Review Date: 02/13/2015 | Author: Claudia H.

Comments: He takes pride in his work. When he didn't like how it looked, he redid it.

Review Date: 01/26/2015 | Author: Ryan P.

Comments: James and Gus did an incredible job installing and repairing my drywall. James was willing to come out within 30 minutes of the initial call to look at the job and give me a price, even though it was 7pm. His pricing was fair, especially for the quality of work. Couldn't be more pleased with the work and will be recommending him as often as possible.

Review Date: 01/24/2015 | Author: Rob V.

Comments: Really fast response, great work.

Review Date: 01/19/2015 | Author: Bruce H.

Comments: James and his work crew did a wonderful job repairing and painting the cathedral (drywall not popcorn) ceiling in my family room. The work they did is better than the original work by the home builder.

Review Date: 10/16/2014 | Author: Deanna E.

Comments: I could not be more pleased with the work. Everyone was so kind and professional. The works was done quickly and exceptionally well. I had all of the popcorn ceilings scraped and painted and all of the walls and trim too. James and his crew did everything and even left my home livable each night. They assisted in color selection and made sure we were happy each step of the way. I highly recommend their work.

Review Date: 09/14/2014 | Author: Shay S.

Comments: Very responsive, reviewed what needed to be done and explained what measures would be taken to protect walls, furniture and floor from drywall repair and repainting the ceiling. He delivered on time.

Review Date: 09/09/2014 | Author: Carmel H.

Comments: Very neat,clean workmanship.

Review Date: 05/14/2014 | Author: Mark H.

Comments: Fast response, great job

Review Date: 08/23/2013 | Author: Ian W.

Comments: James did a very thorough and high quality job. His attention to detail is unparalleled. I would not hesitate to use him again or refer him to my friends.

Review Date: 03/11/2013 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Leigh's provides quality workmanship and is very easy to work with. He removed the old popcorn ceiling and repainted the ceilings and walls. He kept us informed as the work progressed via e-mail and photos. He did a great job of cleaning up afterward and put everything back in place.

Review Date: 12/04/2012 | Author: Carol F.

Comments: Did a great job, and was a pleasure to work with

Review Date: 11/26/2012 | Author: Ken R.

Comments: Very Professional in communications and work. Room and hall painting was well done. Also had popcorn ceilings texture removed for a smooth finish. They covered EVERYTHING with plastic (floor 2 layers) to protect furnishings and keep ceiling dust to a minimum. I would certainly recommend Leight's.

Review Date: 09/03/2012 | Author: Leslie H.

Comments: completed job very quickly

Review Date: 08/14/2012 | Author: Bill M.

Comments: Leigh's Painting was very good and we also had them paint our home. They were very detailed and provided a great service and kept us informed of all that was going on. I am very satisfied.

Review Date: 08/05/2012 | Author: Ashley S.

Comments: James Leigh called immediately when I put in a request. He came the day I first spoke to him (on a Saturday, a bonus for me, since I work M-F) He was prompt, efficient, courteous, as were his fellow-workers and didn't stop until he got the job looking the way he wanted it to, beyond what I said would pass. His workmanship was excellent. I will definitely be calling on him again.

Review Date: 07/17/2012 | Author: Scott W.

Comments: Great to work with fast quality serives with a good rate

Review Date: 01/08/2009 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Although I'm waiting on an estimate for our drywall repair, I was completely satisfied this is the company for us: knowledgeable, agreeable to work with us and our budget, and definitely committed to doing an excellent job. I look forward to working with Leigh's Painting and Contracting to fix up our drywall.

Review Date: 09/26/2007 | Author: a Neighbor

Comments: Their work is excellent. The prices are excellent. They are the only ones I use for the historic district downtown. Their craftsmanship is excellent.